Laughter, memories and friendship

3 Oct

Today I share the last three days’ of photos with you – all of which brought up very fond, special memories for me. Please feel free to participate! Share a photo, or link to a photo, below of a favorite memory of yours – something that makes you laugh or a person who means a lot to you.

Day 8 – A picture that makes you laugh:

This photo always makes me laugh – it was taken in March 2006, in India during the Holi Festival. I took my daughter to volunteer at an orphanage with The Miracle Foundation – the same kids I had visited the year before and wrote a book about. After a play and dance performance by the kids, they commenced an all-out war with the colored powders. Holi was played with a vengeance – this photo was taken right after the ambush. Took two weeks for the pink to leave my hair. Fun times….

Day 9 – A picture of the person who
has gotten you through the most:

My friend Leslie has definitely gotten me through the most in the last decade, since I moved to Austin. Through the teenage girl years, relationship advice (from her husband too!) and now being grandmothers together. Not sure I could have made it through without her. On the beach in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada – June 2011

Day 10 – A picture of the person you
do the most ****** up things with:

It’s a tie – over the cumulative course of my lifetime, I can’t decide if I’ve done more messed-up stuff with Janet, whom I’ve known since we were three; or Joy, who has been a partner in crime for most of my adult life.

The middle picture is me with both of them in September 2011. On the left is Joy and I celebrating our birthdays about 10 years ago (THAT was a doozy of a party!). On the right is me and Janet at 16 years old, in about 1983. Who wears short shorts? Oh yes we did! That was what I affectionately refer to as the “Summer of Terror.”

Good memories with two of my favorite girls – along with quite a few **** up memories with both of them!

This project is really fun, going back through the memories. Til next time,

Leave a Reply

