Favorite Book, Something I Wish I Could Change, and a Photo of my Day

19 Oct

This week’s photos have included a difficult choice (favorite book), an easy one (something I wish I could change), and yesterday’s subject was a picture from my day. It was a beautiful day here in Austin, Texas!

Day 23: “A picture of your favorite book.”

Another very difficult choice. If I had to pick only ONE book that, over time, always made my top list, it’s To Kill a Mockingbird (notice how well-worn it is). However, being a huge book lover I couldn’t keep my runners up out of the photo:

A Moveable Feast – Ernest Hemingway
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou
Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
East of Eden – John Steinbeck
Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Day 24: “A picture of something you wish you could change.”


Places in the world where a generation is wiped out by AIDS. Places like this one, a slum in the middle of India called Vambay Colony, that I visited with an NGO in 2007. What was striking was what was missing: all the middle-aged people. It was a village of the elderly raising their grandchildren, after AIDS had destroyed their lives. Some of the grandchildren, like Krishna shown here, are also HIV-positive. His grandmother beside him, Ramulamma, has since died. Who will take care of these children?

To the right is a photo of me interviewing another grandmother, Durgamma, also raising an HIV-positive grandson while his elder brother worked at 12 years old, to support the family. I wish that I could change these sorts of things from ever existing. My heart was broken that day. You can read more in the story I wrote for CNN, and of course it’s in my book, The Weight of Silence: Invisible Children of India.

Day 25: “A photo of your day.”


Beautiful day to have a drink at the lake! Finally cooler temperatures, had the windows open all day, ending with a lovely drink and the Meet, Plan, Go! Austin travel event with some of my favorite people. A day that involves beautiful sunshine with a cool breeze, a drink lakeside, wonderful friends and travel, is pretty much close to a perfect day to me!

Until next time,

4 Responses to “Favorite Book, Something I Wish I Could Change, and a Photo of my Day”

  1. Jessica @ Shhh Mommy's Blogging October 19, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    To Kill a Mockingbird is my favourite book too, but then I always wonder how people can read it and not have it be their favourite. Such a great book with rich, wonderful characters.

    I really like the idea behind your blog, will have to stick around and check out a few more posts.

    • Shelley Seale October 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks Jessica! I’m going to check out your blog, too.
      Shelley

  2. Aaron G Myers (@aarongmyers) October 20, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Shelley,
    What a fun blog. Just stopped by today. Saw you want to learn French better and then moved up to this post. To Kill a Mocking bird! Amazing book and was always one of my favorites to teach and then create a project around with my high school students when I was teaching. And thanks for touching on Aids. In December I’ll be giving 50% of the proceeds of my language learning guide sales to Blood:Water Mission who are working in Africa to end Aids and provide clean water. I am super excited to be a part of trying to do my part to make a difference. Great stuff here. I am glad I came across your blog and look forward to next months challenge.

    >> Aaron

    • Shelley Seale October 20, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

      That’s awesome Aaron – love your site and the fact that you’re donating to charities as well. I am thinking about doing my next 30 Days Project as 30 days of learning new things. Including language. I am going to email you, maybe we could partner up?

Leave a Reply

