There’s Always Room for Improvement

15 Oct

The past three days of photograph challenges spoke to me of improvement. First came travel; I am always adding to my travel bucket list, and the more places I go, the longer that list grows. I am constantly updating and improving my “Where in the World can I go Next?” list.

On the “something I wish I could forget” day, I happened across a stunning graphic that stopped me in my tracks. I certainly wish such distressing facts did not exist – there is much to improve on in women’s rights and empowerment around the world. And the last area for improvement is for something I wish I was better at; and oh, how I would love to improve my language skills!

Day 20 – A picture of somewhere you’d love to travel:

Photo by Maria Salamanca

Kenya…Especially I want to go to Kenya with Racquel Turner of Mothers Fighting for Others. This is a place I have long wanted to visit and experience. Of course my list of places I’d love to travel is very long, but Kenya is definitely toward the top. I WILL make it happen, Rocky – can’t wait!

Day 21 – A picture of something you wish you could forget:


This says it all, on its own. Sometimes it seems as if things have come a long way – and I suppose they have, for SOME people in SOME parts of the world. But when you see these sorts of stark statistics, you gotta wonder. Let’s change things for the future, people!

And I guess I’m not sure if wishing I could “forget” it is completely accurate…more like I wish it didn’t exist in the first place.

Day 22 – A picture of something you wish you were better at:

Speaking French! I took two years in college but still struggle at conversation, especially when people speak fast. I wish language skills came more easily to me, and I wish I had more opportunity to practice French. Perhaps an immersion year in Paris would help…

Photo is with Celine, a Tourisme Montreal guide, in July 2011.

What would you like to improve?

Leave a Reply

