Impact, Insecurity and a Special Letter

13 Oct
Day 17 – A picture of something that has
made a huge impact on your life recently:
Becoming a grandmother is definitely the thing that has made the hugest impact on my life this year. Fell in love immediately with this tiny, sweet, precious baby.

Day 18 – A picture of your biggest insecurity:


Age spots. Hit home when I stopped to give a meal I’d just purchased to a homeless guy at the corner. He was an older white-haired man, and his sign tugged at me: “I have no one” it read. When I gave him the food, after thanking me he held his arm next to mine and exclaimed, “We have the same freckles!”

Damn. They aren’t freckles. They are age spots on his much-older arms – and they’re age spots on my arms too. I better have some wisdom to go with them….

Day 19 – A picture and a letter:


This is a picture of Daina, a girl in India I began sponsoring in 2005, through The Miracle Foundation. Daina lives in an orphanage there, and along with many of the other children, was largely the basis of my book, The Weight of Silence: Invisible Children of India.

I have been every year since to visit her and the other children, and I really can’t even express how dear to my heart she is. This photo is one of my favorite of her, and is with one of the letters she has written me (her letter plus a translation) and some of the pictures she has drawn me over the years.

Happy photographing until next time!

Leave a Reply

