Wrapping Up 30 Days on a Discount – What’s Next?

21 Sep

My 30 Days of Living on a Discount has come to an end. I’ll recap here the last few days of this project, which ended this past weekend. But I also need your help to decide what to do for my next project! Please weigh in on the poll below, to vote for the project you would find most interesting:

The best thing I did on the weekend, on a discount, was attend the ACL Music Festival. I went to the first one, ten years ago, and have been to about five since. But I haven’t been the past couple of years. A few weeks ago, I saw that KGB Deals was offering 50% off tickets through SuperStar Tickets – and had ACL tickets available in their system. So Keith and I both purchased the deal, and then bought one-day ACL passes for Sunday, September 18. Tickets were $61 plus $15 shipping for a total of $76. We got a $25 discount through the KGB deal, and then an additional $25 rebate through a special trial offer through SuperStar Tickets. Net cost for ACL tickets: $26 including shipping – a savings of 66%!

We had a great time, with a line-up of shows that included The Airborne Toxic Event, Broken Social Scene, Manu Chao, Social Distortion and Arcade Fire to close the show. Best day of the summer!

I also ordered 4 bottles of Oriel wine, including free shipping, for only $49 through KGB Deals. This was a $145 value, and includes an incredible 2002 Falerne Malbec from France, a $50 bottle of wine just by itself. Can’t wait for this set to arrive! Total savings: 66%

In a related deal, I signed up for Lot 18, a membership by invitation website for wine and epicurean products at good discounts. By signing up I received a $10 credit, and Lot 18 was offering this really cool Himalayan pink salt block for $21.99, a savings off the regular $27.99 retail price (free shipping). Including my credit, I saved $16, or 58%.

Mason Arnold of Greenling

In other deals, I got 50% off at Whole Foods Market from Living Social, paying $10 for a $20 voucher. I saved on other groceries at Greenling, who offer me an ongoing 10% discount off delivered Local Baskets, and also sent me a discount code to receive a free Recipe Kit, an $18.99 value. I paid $35 for a delivery totaling $55, or a savings of 36%. You can get 10% off an order too, by using this code: SHESEA902. Even though I had made an exception in my rules for non-negotiable items like grocery, I have still been able to get some deals and discounts in this category.

I got 50% off at Flashback Vintage through Buy With Me for some cool vintage threads; a $100 shellac mani-pedi for $30 from KGB Deals; and had fantastic meals at Annie’s Cafe & Bar and Thrice for 50% off through Groupon.

I saved a lot of money on things I would normally do – or want to do – through this experiment. I have been a big deal person in the past, using Groupons and the like, but this experiment revealed so many other organizations and ways to save that I never even knew about. It’s really true – why pay retail?

Please don’t forget to vote in my poll and let me know what new 30-Day Project you’d like to see me start next week! Until then,

One Response to “Wrapping Up 30 Days on a Discount – What’s Next?”

  1. Shelley Seale September 22, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    KGB replied to this article with the following offer:

    Go to this link http://bit.ly/neRbNk and retweet it to win $50 in kgbkash.

Leave a Reply

