Donation drive for Kenyan Orphanage (& other gives)

14 Feb

Rocky with the girls of St. Monica's

Before I get started on a recap of what my last few days of giving were, I’d like to say that if you would like to participate, even just this week to honor the Day of Love (who said it had to be limited to romantic love?) – the Random Acts of Kindness people have issued an Extreme Kindness Challenge. From February 14-20, perform an act of kindness each day. Who’s in?

Friday, Feb 11 – My giving today was an item for St. Monica’s Girls Home in Kenya. My dear friend Rocky Turner runs this orphanage that is home to 34 girls. They also pay for the girls’ schooling, and always need school supplies. One of the items on their wish list is a scientific calculator. I just happen to have a barely-used old one of my daughter’s, and so I wrapped it up to send to Rocky as my giving for the day.

But I don’t want to stop there! The girls at St. Monica’s always need a number of items, and I intend to gather more together to send. If you’d like to help, and can donate any of the items on the list below (either that you already have or can pick up inexpensively at stores such as Target or Wal Mart), please let me know. I will be happy to come pick your donations up (as long as you live in Austin!), or I can give you a mailing address (U.S.) for your donation. Thank you!

Saturday, Feb 12: Today my giving was simple – I gave a couple of bucks to a guy standing on a street corner. It was about 2 pm, and he told me I was the “first person who had blessed him all day.”

Sunday, Feb 13: Took a big pile of clothing that I culled from my closet (thanks, Six Items project!) and donated them to Goodwill.

Peace,

6 Responses to “Donation drive for Kenyan Orphanage (& other gives)”

  1. detroit donations February 15, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    come on everyone. Let’s make this a success. Donate items today. Help someone in need.

    • Shelley Seale February 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement and support – your Car Donation site is a great service too!

  2. AL August 1, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    I’m trying to find 600 people who will donate at least $10 or perhaps 1 person who will donate $6000. My email is my name AL at saveanavyvet. My page also explains my situation. I’m running out of food. I haven’t found a job and I’m about to be evicted. Thanks everyone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Day of Love From A Great Friend | Mothers Fighting For Others - February 14, 2011

    […] you can read the post in its entirety at 30 Days at A Time. Share and […]

  2. Donation drive for Kenyan Orphanage | Philanthropy - February 27, 2011

    […] Donation drive for Kenyan Orphanage – 30 Days of Giving (30days2011.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Green Beauty on a Budget (with Recipes!) « 30 Days at a Time - June 10, 2011

    […] your wardrobe, taking a good look at your shopping tendencies, buying vintage or used clothing, and donating excess clothing to charity. When it comes to health and fitness, over the past two months I have been going to a […]

Leave a Reply

