The Six go on the Road

2 Feb

Henry David Thoreau famously remarked, “Beware of all enterprises that require new clothes.” Here I am in St. Kitts, in the Caribbean, on a press trip in the middle of my 6 Items or Less experiment. And how is it going, you might ask?

Wearing one of my 6 items, with fellow journalist Jan on a catamaran in St. Kitts

Not as difficult as I might have thought. Fortunately, I knew this trip was a distinct possibility before the project began, and so I considered it as I chose my six. The cotton dress, by itself rather than over jeans or the white shirt in colder weather, worked beautifully on the tropical island. The short-sleeved green top and linen pants were also just fine. Considering the trip was only 3 days, I really had no problems – and in fact, the packing and unpacking process was made much easier with my small, pre-planned wardrobe.

Is my swimsuit & cover-up cheating?

Also fortunately, swimwear is an exception to the Six. Although this did lead my fellow journalists and I into a discussion of whether or not I was “cheating” yesterday morning. We set out for the beach, and I was wearing a bathing suit underneath a little cover-up dress thingy. I considered that to all be part of “swimwear” – a cover-up to a swimsuit counts as swimwear, right? But the group was somewhat divided on this – most of them seemed to feel that the cover-up didn’t count as an exception, and I was faltering from my 6 items by wearing it.

I posed the question on the SIOL site, and two other Sixers seemed to feel it wasn’t a wobble if I wore it ONLY as a swimsuit cover up and didn’t wear it as clothing during any other part of the experiment.

Weigh in – what do you think?

One Response to “The Six go on the Road”

  1. MaryAnn Reynolds February 4, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    If you just wore it with your swimsuit, then it shouldn’t count. It’s swimwear!

Leave a Reply

