Halfway Mark Passed – New Ideas?

27 Jan

I am now a little more than halfway through my 6 Items or Less experiment – about 13 days to go. It’s going pretty well for the most part, many more pluses than minuses. I find it much easier not to have to think about what I’m going to wear, and it’s way faster to pack. I don’t do much laundry – just throw whatever couple of items need washing in with towels, sheets or undies.

Flickr Creative Commons photo by Joe Shlabotnik

The biggest negative or challenge I’ve had is in getting a little bored with wearing the same clothes over and over – I do feel that stifles the fun & creative aspect of fashion. I posted earlier in the week about how the boredom was actually creating an unusual urge in me to buy new items; that’s not exactly right, I don’t want to buy new things, I just want to be able to wear different things!

But it definitely makes me very conscious of how much money, time, and energy I put into buying, wearing, organizing, then getting rid of my clothing.  It reminds me of what I could do without, and what I could do for others with the resources I am lucky enough to have, and others may be in need of.

This Saturday I take off for a working press trip to St. Kitts and Miami – which should be an interesting turn of events to the project. I knew about this trip before I started the experiment and selected my Six, so I planned for it. My dress will be very cool and tropical over bare legs without a jacket, and the green t-shirt and linen pants should do just fine in a warm climate as well. But, it will still be interesting to see how the wardrobe holds up on a 5-day working trip in a tropical climate. Will keep you updated!

On another note, now that I am rounding the bend on finishing this experiment, I am open to suggestions on what you might think about new, future experiments. I have a few things in mind, but am always wanting to know what ideas other people have. Some of the possible future experiments I’ve come up with are:

  • Eating vegetarian, organic and farmers market only for 30 Days
  • Going without a car for 30 Days
  • Doing disciplined meditation every day
  • Implementing a Happiness Project practice every day
  • Giving something every day – my time, money, donated item, etc.

Have other ideas? Send them my way by posting a comment below, or sending me a private message!

Peace,

Follow my blog with bloglovin

5 Responses to “Halfway Mark Passed – New Ideas?”

  1. Lorie poe January 27, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    Do vegetarian! I have loads of recipes. I love to cook and I’ve been a vegetarian for over 20 years. And it’s easy to do in Austin!

  2. Shelley Seale January 27, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    Thanks, Lorie. Yes I am definitely going to do the vegetarian thing, but not just eating veg because that’s too easy for me. I don’t really eat red meat anyway, mostly poultry and seafood and already eat veg about 70% of the time anyway. I’ve been veg for stretches several times. So I am going to combine that with also eating all organic and only buying food to cook at home from local farmers markets. I have a great veg cookbook from Keith’s mom too. I appreciate the feedback!

  3. a.eye January 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Found you through SIOL. That is a great idea to try a new experiment each month. I will be following to see your different ideas.

    Hope your trip is a great one. I will still be in the States freezing and wearing my 6.

  4. Shelley Seale January 28, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Thanks! I leave tomorrow – it will be nice to be in warm weather (though Texas was pretty warm today); but interesting to see how my limited wardrobe holds up to travel and work for 6 days!

  5. Jeanine January 28, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Great idea, to try something new every month! I might be tempted to try the vegetarian thing, although I tried that once, for Lent and was miserable.

    Jeanine

Leave a Reply

