New 30-Day Project: The Month of Living on Discounts

16 Aug

Today I start my newest 30-Day experiment – using only coupons, Groupons and other discounts on everything I buy. I already take some good advantage of things like Groupons, but this 30-day period I will push it to the limit to see if I can live for an entire month doing only that with everything I buy. A guy named Josh Stevens lived off Groupon for a entire year, and blogged about it. Keep reading for more rules and guidelines that I’ve laid out for this challenge.

TED Talk: Try Something New for 30 Days

And if you want a little more insight into why I’m doing this year of 30-Day lifestyle experiments, check out this terrific video on TED. Is there something you’ve always meant to do, wanted to do, but just … haven’t? Matt Cutts suggests trying it for 30 days.

“It turns out, 30 days is just about the right about of time to add a habit, or subtract a habit, from your life.”

Matt hits on an aspect which has been major for me in this whole project: living in a very conscious way.

“Instead of the months flying by, forgotten, the time was much more memorable.

I also figured out that if you really want something badly enough, you can do anything for thirty days.

I learned that when I made small, sustainable changes – things I could keep doing – they were more likely to stick.”

I have found all this to be very true. Doing the challenges I’ve done for 30 days has given me enough time to look into and practice the various habits – and I have continued to incorporate all of them into my daily life. From meditating to practicing happiness techniques, from eating local and healthy to purging my wardrobe and consciously making sustainable lifestyle choices, the practices I’ve learned and incorporated in each of these challenges have helped me tremendously. In reality, this entire thing has been about my year of living consciously.

So this current experiment, which I will call Living on a Discount, is all about living on a discount. I’ve used Groupons and other discount programs for everything from eating out and massage to taking art and yoga classes. I wondered what it would be to buy NOTHING unless it was at a steep discount; something that I think it of interest to a lot of people in this economy. The project will go like this:

  • Exclusions: Certain items will, naturally, be excluded from the discount requirement. My fixed monthly bills, like rent and utilities; as well as a few non-negotiable expenses such as gasoline and groceries. However, even with things like groceries I will use coupons as much as possible. I’ve even had a Groupon once for the HOPE Farmers Market.
  • Discount Rules: For everything else I buy this month – and I mean everything – I will only do so at a discount of at least 30%. That’s for all eating out, wine or happy hours, any clothing or books or other items I purchase, massages or exercise classes – anything and everything that I spend money on (outside my non-negotiable fixed expenses) – I must do so at a discount of at least 30%.

I will, as always, chart my progress here and share my findings and experiences with you. And in closing, I’d like to share a last thought from Matt Cutts:

“I guarantee the next thirty days are going to pass, whether you like it or not. So why not think about something you have always wanted to try, and give it a shot for the next 30 days.”

Thank you for following me on my journey!

3 Responses to “New 30-Day Project: The Month of Living on Discounts”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New 30-Day Project: The Month of Living on Discounts (via 30 Days at a Time) | The Well: bodymindheartspirit - August 17, 2011

    [...] Today I start my newest 30-Day experiment – using only coupons, Groupons and other discounts on everything I buy. I already take some good advantage of things like Groupons, but this 30-day period I will push it to the limit to see if I can live for an entire month doing only that with everything I buy. A guy named Josh Stevens lived off Groupon for a entire year, and blogged about it. Keep reading for more rules and guidelines that I've laid out … Read More [...]

  2. Giving Back to Get « 30 Days at a Time - September 9, 2011

    [...] for it – the only thing I’ve paid full price for so far in this experiment, outside my rules of fixed, non-negotiable expenses. However, I also earned an extra $10 in Groupon credit this month, so I’m hoping that makes [...]

  3. Wrapping Up 30 Days on a Discount – What’s Next? « 30 Days at a Time - September 21, 2011

    [...] 30 Days of Living on a Discount has come to an end. I’ll recap here the last few days of this project, which ended this past [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

